Skip to main content

Online Collection "Compensation for National Socialist Injustice"

By Archivportal-D

Since June 1, the online collection "Wiedergutmachung nationalsozialistischer Unrechts" (Compensation for National Socialist Injustice), initiated and financed by the Federal Ministry of Finance, has been online in Archivportal-D. It is being developed in close cooperation between the State Archives of Baden-Württemberg, the Federal Archives, FIZ Karlsruhe – Leibniz Institute for Information Infrastructure and the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek. In the first stage of the online collection, holdings from state archives are now searchable.

https://www.archivportal-d.de/themenportale/wiedergutmachung

The website offers information on the topic and navigation through around 500 holdings with millions of archival records and documents – from federal ministries to courts to local compensation offices. Users can use the collection to find out directly which holdings are relevant and in which archives they can be found.

Two access options –  thematic and structured by archives –  are available. In the thematic area, four upper categories (Entschädigung, Rückerstattung, Internationales and SBZ und DDR) are available for selection. Short information texts are also provided for each of the upper and lower categories. The results page offers an overview of the thematically relevant holdings. A provenance-related access is provided via the tab "Archives". The service is supplemented by background information with information pages on the history of restitution and on legal requirements, as well as literature references, maps and a glossary of the most important terms.

The online collection will be further expanded in the coming years and decades. Many more data sets and digitized archival material – also from municipal and independent archival institutions –, subject-related and person-related access to individual types of documents and offers for historical education will follow.

 

Contact

Federal Archives

E-mail: portal-wiedergutmachung [at] bundesarchiv.de

 

State Archives of Baden-Württemberg

E-mail: wiedergutmachung [at] la-bw.de

Direkt zum Inhalt

Themenportal „Wiedergutmachung nationalsozialistischen Unrechts“

Von Archivportal-D

Seit dem 1. Juni ist das vom Bundesministerium für Finanzen initiierte und finanzierte Themenportal „Wiedergutmachung nationalsozialistischen Unrechts“ im Archivportal-D online. Es wird in enger Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg, dem Bundesarchiv, dem FIZ Karlsruhe – Leibniz-Institut für Informationsinfrastruktur und der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek entwickelt. In einer ersten Stufe des Portals sind nun zunächst Bestände aus staatlichen Archiven erstmals unter einem Dach recherchierbar.

https://www.archivportal-d.de/themenportale/wiedergutmachung

Die Webseite bietet Informationen zum Thema und eine Navigation durch rund 500 Bestände mit Millionen von Archivalien und Dokumenten von Bundesministerien über Gerichte bis zu lokalen Entschädigungsämtern. Nutzerinnen und Nutzer können mit Hilfe des Portals direkt erfahren, welche Bestände einschlägig sind und in welchen Archiven sie zu finden sind.

Zwei Zugriffsmöglichkeiten –  thematisch und gegliedert nach Archiven –  stehen zur Verfügung. Im thematischen Bereich stehen vier Oberkategorien (Entschädigung, Rückerstattung, Internationales sowie SBZ und DDR), die sich an den Schwerpunkten der Wiedergutmachungspraxis orientieren, zur Auswahl bereit. Zu den einzelnen Ober- und Unterkategorien sind zusätzlich kurze Informationstexte hinterlegt. Die Ergebnisseite bietet eine Übersicht der thematisch einschlägigen Bestände. Ein rein provenienzbezogener Zugang erfolgt über den Reiter "Archive". Abgerundet wird das Angebot durch Hintergrundinformationen mit Seiten zu Geschichte der Wiedergutmachung und zu rechtlichen Voraussetzungen sowie Literaturhinweise, Kartenmaterial und ein Glossar mit den wichtigsten Begriffen.

Das Themenportal wird in den kommenden Jahren und Jahrzehnten weiter ausgebaut. Sehr viele weitere Datensätze und digitalisiertes Archivgut – auch von kommunalen und freien Archivträgern –, ein sachthematischer und personenbezogener Zugang zu einzelnen Unterlagenarten und Angebote zur historischen Bildung werden folgen.

Kontakt

Aufgabengebiet "Themenportal Wiedergutmachung nationalsozialistischen Unrechts" im Bundesarchiv

E-Mail: portal-wiedergutmachung [at] bundesarchiv.de

Fachstelle "Wiedergutmachung" im Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg

E-Mail: wiedergutmachung [at] la-bw.de