Skip to main content

DFG-Project „Thematic Access Weimar Republic“ completed

By Archivportal-D

"Explore collections" and a new look for Archivportal-D

Originally planned to be carried out within 36 months, in the end it took almost four years to complete the project due to Covid-19, several bridging periods and self-financing extensions. Much has been accomplished during these four years: within the framework of the project, the web portal has been given a thoroughly new design, its visuals and usage catering to the needs of our users. We want to particularly thank our technical operator, FIZ Karlsruhe, who substantially carried out this task with their own funds.

The main outcome of the project is the online collection "Weimar Republic". There you can research archival holdings from various archives via thematic tagging, ranging from A as in Abgeordneter to Z as in Zoologischer Garten. The keywords cover all areas of politics as well as life between 1918/19 and 1933. Have a go and explore the archival holdings in the online collection "Weimar Republic"!

 

"George looking for Easter eggs", Willi Pragher photo collection, Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg - discover this photo and many more archival records in the sub portal "Weimar Republic"

Take part and design a new online collection yourself

The new online collection "Weimar Republic" delivers the technical framework for further online collections, too. Now it is your - the archives - turn: Do you, maybe in cooperation with other institutions, plan to digitize part of your holdings and would like to process them topically or display them together online with holdings of other institutions? Then you may create your very own online collection to make your work public! This way, you need not develop a platform for your project and may present your results centrally on Archivportal-D.

Should you have any questions regarding your participation in Archivportal-D or the online collection "Weimar Republic", please do not hesitate to contact us: apd-themenportale [at] la-bw.de

Das Schlagworttool
The Archivportal-D keyword tool: helping you to edit archival records thematically

New impulses for the archives sector

The project results yielded some new insights regarding AI-assisted indexing and the opportunities and weaknesses of this technology. In our experience, extracting abstract keywords from archival descriptions via "intelligent" machines poses a challenge, which can only be met by investing a lot of time and effort, e.g. designing complex semantic networks. Yet, simpler processes, like the recognition of defined keywords, are, in essence and regarding German language archival descriptions, already operational today.

In course of the project, the Archivportal-D keyword tool has been developed to ensure the simple and quick editing of archival descriptions in the online collection. The tagged archival records may be downloaded and thus be reused in an archive's own database.

Last but not least, Archivportal-D and its online collections are going to be an integral part in the archival field of activity "Transforming Compensation". Using the online collection "Weimar Republic" as a framework, archival records and information with regard to this important subject of German post-war history will be made available in a new online collection called "Compensation of National Socialist Injustice". Further information on this project will be published here in due time.

 

Screenshot der alten Startseite des Archivportal-D
Only those among you who have been visiting Archivportal-D for a long time will know this: the site of Archivportal-D before the relaunch in October 2020. The online collections as well as the new design made the site much more dynamic.

Direkt zum Inhalt

DFG-Projekt „Sachthematische Zugänge am Beispiel Weimarer Republik“ abgeschlossen

Von Archivportal-D

„Themen entdecken“ und ein neues Gewand für das Archivportal-D

Eigentlich sollten es „nur“ 36 Monate werden – dann kam Corona, inklusive Überbrückungszeiten und kostenneutraler Verlängerungen. Und so sind es am Ende doch fast vier Jahre geworden. Vier Jahre, in denen viel bewegt wurde: Im Kontext des Projektes haben wir das Portal grundlegend neu gestaltet, an aktuelle Sehgewohnheiten angepasst und die Usability für unsere Nutzenden verbessert. Unser Dank geht hierbei an unseren technischen Betreiber FIZ Karlsruhe, der diese Aufgabe aus Eigenmitteln maßgeblich gestemmt hat.

Das zentrale Ergebnis des Projekts ist das Themenportal „Weimarer Republik“. Im Themenportal können Sie Archivalien aus verschiedensten Archiven anhand thematischer Schlagwörter suchen und finden. Die Auswahl reicht von A, wie „Abgeordneter“ bis Z wie „Zoologischer Garten“ und deckt alle Politikfelder und Lebensbereiche der Zeit von 1918/19 bis 1933 ab. Probieren Sie es aus und entdecken Sie Archivgut im Themenportal!


„Georg sucht Ostereier“ aus der Fotosammlung Willi Pragher im Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg – dieses und viele andere Archivalien finden Sie im Themenportal „Weimarer Republik“

Mitmachen und neue Themenportale gestalten

Das neue Themenportal „Weimarer Republik“ legt dabei den technischen Grundstein für weitere Themenportale. Hier sind die Archive gefragt: Sie planen – vielleicht sogar einrichtungsübergreifend – zum Beispiel ein Digitalisierungsprojekt zu einem bestimmten Thema, das sie gerne sachthematisch aufbereiten möchten, oder eine virtuelle Zusammenführung von Beständen mit anderen Archiven? Stellen Sie Ihre Projektergebnisse in einem Themenportal im Archivportal-D der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung! So müssen Sie keine eigene Plattform für Ihr Projekt aufbauen und können Ihre Ergebnisse zentral im Archivportal-D zugänglich machen.

Bei Fragen zur Teilnahme am Archivportal-D und am Themenportal „Weimarer Republik“ schreiben Sie uns unter: apd-themenportale [at] la-bw.de

Das Schlagworttool

Das Archivportal-D Schlagworttool: Mit diesem Werkzeug können Archivalien für Themenportale aufbereitet werden.

 

Neue Anstöße für die Archivcommunity

Mit den Ergebnissen des Projekts haben wir eine Reihe neuer Erkenntnisse im Bereich "KI gestützte Erschließung" gewonnen und die Chancen und Grenzen der Technologie abgetastet. Unserer Erfahrung nach bleibt die maschinelle „intellektuelle“ Übertragung von Erschließungsangaben in abstraktere Schlagwörter eine Herausforderung, die sich nur mit erheblichem Aufwand, wie der Erstellung komplexer Wissensgraphen, angehen lässt. Einfachere Verfahren, beispielsweise die Erkennung bestimmter Schlüsselwörter sind hingegen auch jetzt schon für deutschsprachige Erschließungsangaben grundsätzlich nutzbar.

Für die einfache Aufbereitung von Erschließungsdaten im Themenportal wurde im Rahmen des Projekts das Archivportal-D Schlagworttool entwickelt. Die dort vorgenommenen Verschlagwortungen können auch heruntergeladen und von den Archiven in ihren Ursprungssystemen nachgenutzt werden.

Zu guter Letzt wird das Archivportal-D mit den Themenportalen auch zu einem zentralen Baustein im archivischen Aufgabenbereich „Transformation der Wiedergutmachung“. Auf Basis des Themenportals „Weimarer Republik“ sollen hier in einem neuen Themenportal „Wiedergutmachung nationalsozialistischen Unrechts“ Archivalien und Informationen zu diesem wichtigen Gegenstand der deutschen Nachkriegsgeschichte bereitgestellt werden. Mehr Informationen zu dem neuen Aufgabengebiet werden im Laufe der nächsten Wochen und Monate hier zu finden sein.

Screenshot der alten Startseite des Archivportal-D

Alte Hasen kennen es noch: So sah das Archivportal-D vor dem Relaunch im Oktober 2020 aus. Mit den neuen Themenportalen und dem neuen Design ist auch mehr Dynamik in die Webseite gekommen.
Loading...