Archives introduce themselves - The University of Bamberg Archives

By Dr. Margrit Prussat

Matriculation books, lecture registers, personnel files, senate minutes, university newspapers... The University of Bamberg Archives preserves the records of today's Otto Friedrich University and its predecessor institutions. In 1647, the Academia Ottoniana was founded as the first university in Bamberg, and in 1773 it was expanded into the classical four-faculty university. After the abolition of the university in 1803, academic studies could be continued in various institutions: the Lyceum Bamberg - which was renamed Philosophisch-Theologische Hochschule in 1923 (1803-1972), the Pädagogische Hochschule (1958-1972) and the Gesamthochschule (1972-1979). Finally, in 1979, the University was re-established.

The archive has the task of forming a historically meaningful record that shows as many facets of university life as possible since 1647. This includes, for example, documents from the committees, the university management and administration; documents and certificates relating to studies, teaching and research; scientific bequests; documents on the external impact of the university as well as on supra-regional university policy initiatives. These records serve as legal security, are the basis for scientific research and contribute to the formation of the identity and tradition of the Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg.

Today, the holdings comprise about 1500 linear meters as well as digital data. Via a web-based research platform, the first inventory overviews, approved description information and, in part, digital copies of archival records can be accessed. The upload of the description information to the Archiveportal-D is being continued successively.

The digitization of the archive's holdings and digital archiving have high priority and are among the archive's main areas of work. With the Bamberg Professor Catalog, the University of Bamberg Archives maintain an open access database that includes the academic teaching staff and other important personalities of the Otto-Friedrich University of Bamberg and its predecessor institutions. Analogously, a matriculation portal for the first university is made available online.

The holdings of the University of Bamberg Archives in Archivportal-D.

Contact:

Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg

Universitätsarchiv

Kapuzinerstraße 25

96047 Bamberg

Tel.: +49 951 863 - 1094

E-Mail: archiv [at] uni-bamberg.de (archiv[at]uni-bamberg[dot]de)

Web: https://www.uni-bamberg.de/arch/

 

Foto, das den Eingang des Universitätsarchivs Bamberg, einen hohen Torbogen, zeigt.
Eingang des Universitätsarchivs Bamberg
Loading...

Archive stellen sich vor - Das Universitätsarchiv Bamberg

Von Dr. Margrit Prussat

Matrikelbücher, Vorlesungsverzeichnisse, Personalakten, Senatsprotokolle, Universitätszeitungen… Im Universitätsarchiv Bamberg werden Unterlagen der heutigen Otto-Friedrich-Universität und ihrer Vorläufereinrichtungen archiviert. 1647 wurde mit der Academia Ottoniana die erste Universität in Bamberg gegründet, 1773 wurde sie zur klassischen Vier-Fakultäten Universität erweitert. Nach der Aufhebung der Universität 1803 konnte das akademische Studium in verschiedenen Einrichtungen fortgeführt werden: dem Lyzeum Bamberg – das 1923 in Philosophisch-Theologische Hochschule umbenannt wurde (1803-1972), der Pädagogischen Hochschule (1958-1972) und der Gesamthochschule (1972-1979). Schließlich wurde 1979 die Universität wiedergegründet.

Das Archiv hat die Aufgabe, eine historisch aussagekräftige Überlieferung zu bilden, die möglichst viele Facetten des universitären Lebens seit 1647 aufzeigt. Dazu gehören beispielsweise Unterlagen aus den Gremien, der Universitätsleitung und –verwaltung; Dokumente und Urkunden zu Studium, Lehre und Forschung; wissenschaftliche Nachlässe; Dokumente zur Außenwirkung der Universität sowie zu überregionalen hochschulpolitischen Initiativen. Diese Überlieferung dient der Rechtssicherung, ist Basis für wissenschaftliche Forschung und trägt zur Identitäts- und Traditionsbildung der Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg bei.

Die Bestände umfassen heute etwa 1500 laufende Meter sowie digitale Daten. Über eine eigene webbasierte Rechercheplattform können erste Bestandsübersichten, freigegebene Verzeichnungsinformationen und teilweise auch Digitalisate von Archivalien abgerufen werden. Der Upload der Verzeichnungsinformationen in das Archivportal-D wird sukzessive fortgeführt.

Die Digitalisierung des Universitätsarchivs und die digitale Archivierung besitzen hohe Priorität und gehören zu den Arbeitsschwerpunkten des Archivs. Mit dem Bamberger Professorinnen- und Professorenkatalog pflegt das Universitätsarchiv eine open access verfügbare Datenbank, die das akademische Lehrpersonal und weitere wichtige Persönlichkeiten der Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg und ihrer Vorläufer-Einrichtungen umfasst. Analog wird ein Matrikelportal für die erste Universität online bereit gestellt.

Bestandsübersicht des Universitätsarchiv Bamberg im Archivportal-D.

Kontakt:

Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg

Universitätsarchiv

Kapuzinerstraße 25

96047 Bamberg

Tel.: +49 951 863 - 1094

E-Mail: archiv [at] uni-bamberg.de

Web: https://www.uni-bamberg.de/arch/

Foto, das den Eingang des Universitätsarchivs Bamberg, einen hohen Torbogen, zeigt.
Eingang des Universitätsarchivs Bamberg
Loading...