Skip to main content

Archives introduce themselves – The regional church archives Hanover

By Archivportal-D

Logo LKAHA

The regional church archives Hanover is the central archive of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Hanover.

With around 2.5 million parishioners, the Hanoverian state church is the largest state church in Germany. It grew together in the 19th century from the regional churches of various Lower Saxon dominions. Today, it spans an area from the North Sea to the Kassel mountains and from the Wendland region to the Dutch border.

The mission of the regional church archive is to store, index and make permanently available analog and electronic documents that have been created and will be created in the future in church and diaconal administrative and legal activities. With this mission, the regional church archive is responsible for the archival records of the regional church office and its predecessors, as well as regional church institutions and agencies throughout the regional church. It also deposits archives of parishes and church districts, takes over estates of pastors and other church employees, maintains collections on archive and church history and has an extensive photo database with about 50,000 digitized photos.The finding aids of many holdings are available in the archive information system Arcinsys and can be used there. Information on the archival estates can also be found in the union catalog Kalliope.

LKA HA

The records date back to the 12th century. However, since the regional church archive was not able to take over many records from the time before the separation of state and church, as other church archives do, the main focus of the holdings does not begin until the second third of the 19th century. It is kept in three stacks and currently comprises around 14,000 linear meters.

The archive is open to the public and has a wide range of target groups. Regular users outside the church administration are not only church and profane historians, but also regional and local historians, genealogists, students, pupils who deal with regional historical topics and should be introduced to working with archival sources, and last but not least church members who are interested in the history of their parish.

The decentrally stored church records of the regional church are in many cases already available via the church records portal Archion or are gradually being made available there.

Overview of the holdings of the regional church archives Hanover in Archivportal-D.

Contact:

Landeskirchliches Archiv der Evangelisch-lutherischen Landeskirche Hannovers

Goethestr. 27, 30169 Hannover

E-Mail: archiv [at] evlka.de

Direkt zum Inhalt

Archive stellen sich vor - Das landeskirchliche Archiv Hannover

Von Archivportal-D

Logo LKAHA

Das landeskirchliche Archiv Hannover ist das Zentralarchiv der Evangelisch-lutherischen Landeskirche Hannovers.

Die hannoversche Landeskirche ist mit rund 2,5 Millionen Gemeindegliedern die größte Landeskirche Deutschlands. Sie wuchs im 19. Jahrhundert zusammen aus den regionalen Kirchen verschiedener niedersächsischer Herrschaften. Heute umspannt sie ein Gebiet von der Nordsee bis zu den Kasseler Bergen und vom Wendland bis an die niederländische Grenze.

Das landeskirchliche Archiv hat den Auftrag, analoge und elektronische Unterlagen, die im kirchlichen und diakonischen Verwaltungs- und Rechtshandeln entstanden sind und zukünftig entstehen werden, zu verwahren, zu erschließen und dauerhaft verfügbar zu machen. Mit diesem Auftrag ist das landeskirchliche Archiv für die archivische Überlieferung des Landeskirchenamtes und seiner Vorläufer sowie landeskirchlicher Einrichtungen und Werke in der ganzen Landeskirche zuständig. Es deponiert zudem Archive von Kirchengemeinden und Kirchenkreisen, übernimmt Nachlässe von Pastor*innen und anderen kirchlichen Mitarbeitenden, unterhält Sammlungen zur Archiv- und Kirchengeschichte und verfügt über eine umfangreiche Fotodatenbank mit ca. 50.000 digitalisierten Fotos. Die Findbücher vieler Bestände sind im Archivinformationssystem Arcinsys eingestellt und dort zu benutzen. Informationen zu den verwahrten Nachlässen finden sich zudem im Verbundkatalog Kalliope.

LKA HA

Die Überlieferung reicht bis ins 12. Jahrhundert zurück. Da das landeskirchliche Archiv    allerdings nicht, wie andere kirchliche Archive, vielfach Akten aus der Zeit vor der Trennung von Staat und Kirche übernehmen konnte, setzt der Bestand schwerpunktmäßig erst im zweiten Drittel des 19. Jahrhunderts ein. Dieser wird in drei Magazinen verwahrt und umfasst aktuell rund 14.000 lfm.

Das Archiv ist öffentlich zugänglich und hat ein breites Zielgruppenspektrum. Regelmäßige Nutzer*innen außerhalb der kirchlichen Verwaltung sind nicht nur Kirchen- und Profanhistoriker*innen, sondern ebenso Regional- und Heimatforscher*innen, Familienforscher*innen, Studierende, Schüler*innen, die sich mit regionalgeschichtlichen Themen beschäftigen und an die Arbeit mit archivischen Quellen herangeführt werden sollen, und nicht zuletzt Kirchenmitglieder, die sich für die Geschichte ihrer Kirchengemeinde interessieren.

Die dezentral verwahrten Kirchenbücher der Landeskirche sind vielfach schon über das Kirchenbuchportal Archion verfügbar bzw. werden dort nach und nach eingestellt.

Bestandsübersicht des landeskirchlichen Archivs Hannover im Archivportal-D.

Kontakt:

Landeskirchliches Archiv der Evangelisch-lutherischen Landeskirche Hannovers

Goethestr. 27, 30169 Hannover

E-Mail: archiv [at] evlka.de