Skip to main content
14.12.2020

Archives introduce themselves - Warendorf County and Regional Archives

By Archivportal-D

In the section "Archives introduce themselves" we present the various data providers of the Archivportal-D and link to their holdings. We are pleased that the Warendorf County and Regional Archives are participating.

The Warendorf County and Regional Archives are both the archive of the district administration and the central municipal archive for 12 of the 13 towns and municipalities in the district (Ahlen, Beckum, Beelen, Drensteinfurt, Ennigerloh, Everswinkel, Oelde, Ostbevern, Sassenberg, Sendenhorst, Wadersloh and Warendorf). It is a place of cultural memory, a partner for associations, cultural and educational institutions and a service provider for citizens.

Das Kreisarchiv Warendorf
Our identity: a "house of history" - the county and regional archives as a contact in matters of history - for school, university, local history, family and genealogical research as well as for laymen and experts alike.

It was founded in 1967 as the archive of the Beckum district and has been located in Warendorf since 1981. Successively, the archive holdings of the 12 municipalities were transferred to the county and regional archives in the course of public law agreements. This centralization has the advantage of an efficient bundling of the various archival activities and professional care by archival staff.

In addition to their archive holdings, the county and regional archives have an extensive library. With around 30,000 titles, it is the largest historical library in the district. It collects local, district and regional historical literature on the district of Warendorf, the former districts and the towns and communities belonging to the district.

The county and regional archives have been represented on the Archivportal-D as well as on the portal archive.nrw.de for several years.

Further information, including information on public relations, use and the holdings of the district archive can be found at: https://www.kreis-warendorf.de/unsere-themen/kreisarchiv/aktuelles/.

Overview of the holdings of the Warendorf County and Regional Archives in Archivportal-D.

 

Contact

Waldenburger Straße 2, 48231 Warendorf

Tel: +49 2581-531040

Homepage: https://www.archive.nrw.de/kreisarchiv-warendorf

E-Mail: kreisarchiv [at] kreis-warendorf.de

Direkt zum Inhalt
14.12.2020

Archive stellen sich vor - Das Kreisarchiv Warendorf

Von Archivportal-D

In der Rubrik "Archive stellen sich vor" präsentieren wir die verschiedenen Datengeber des Archivportal-D und verlinken zu ihren Beständen. Wir freuen uns, dass das Kreisarchiv Warendorf mit dabei ist.

Das Kreisarchiv Warendorf ist zugleich Archiv der Kreisverwaltung und zentrales Kommunalarchiv für 12 der 13 Städte und Gemeinden des Kreises (Ahlen, Beckum, Beelen, Drensteinfurt, Ennigerloh, Everswinkel, Oelde, Ostbevern, Sassenberg, Sendenhorst, Wadersloh und Warendorf). Es ist Ort des kulturellen Gedächtnisses, Partner für Vereine, Kultur- und Bildungseinrichtungen und Dienstleister für Bürgerinnen und Bürger.

Das Kreisarchiv Warendorf

Unser Selbstverständnis: ein „Haus der Geschichte“ – das Kreisarchiv als Ansprechpartner in Sachen Geschichte – für Schule, Universität, Heimatforschung, Familien- und Ahnenforschung sowie für Laien und Experten gleichermaßen.

1967 wurde es als Archiv des Kreises Beckum gegründet und ist seit 1981 in Warendorf ansässig. Sukzessive wurden im Zuge von öffentlich-rechtlichen Vereinbarungen die Archivbestände der 12 Kommunen an das Kreisarchiv abgegeben. Diese Zentralisierung hat den Vorteil einer effizienten Bündelung der verschiedenen archivischen Tätigkeiten und einer professionellen Betreuung durch archivarisches Fachpersonal.

Neben seinen Archivbeständen verfügt das Kreisarchiv über eine umfangreiche Bibliothek. Sie ist mit rund 30.000 Titeln die größte geschichtswissenschaftliche Bibliothek im Kreisgebiet. In ihr wird die orts-, kreis- und regionalgeschichtliche Literatur zum Kreis Warendorf, zu den Altkreisen sowie den kreisangehörigen Städten und Gemeinden gesammelt.

Das Kreisarchiv ist seit einigen Jahren sowohl auf dem Archivportal D als auch im Portal archive.nrw.de vertreten.

Weitere Informationen, u.a. zur Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Benutzung und den Beständen des Kreisarchivs finden sich unter: https://www.kreis-warendorf.de/unsere-themen/kreisarchiv/aktuelles/

 

Beständeübersicht des Kreisarchivs Warendorf im Archivportal-D.

 

Kontakt

Waldenburger Straße 2, 48231 Warendorf

Tel: 02581-531040

Homepage: https://www.archive.nrw.de/kreisarchiv-warendorf

E-Mail: kreisarchiv [at] kreis-warendorf.de