Skip to main content

Archives introduce themselves - The Coesfeld District Archive

By Archivportal-D

In the section "Archives introduce themselves" we present the various data providers of the Archivportal-D and link to their holdings. We are pleased that the Coesfeld District Archive is included!

The Kreisarchiv Coesfeld is a very young institution, compared to historical city archives, for example; it was founded in 1986. Since then, all documents that are legally relevant on the one hand and interesting for the history of the district of Coesfeld on the other hand have been archived. Properly packed and stored, the archive material is available for inquiries from administration, research and the public.

The archive material primarily includes the files that have grown up at the Coesfeld district administration since 1945. As the legal successor to the neighboring district of Lüdinghausen, which was dissolved in the course of municipal reorganization on January 1, 1975, it also holds its post-war records. Only a few records from the first half of the 20th century are available in the district archive; the records of the predecessor authorities, namely the district offices of Coesfeld and Lüdinghausen, which were established in 1816, and the district committees, which were created in 1886, are preserved in the Landesarchiv NRW, Abteilung Westfalen. An overview of the files stored there can be viewed in the district archive. The official archive material is supplemented by deposits, such as family or association bequests.

The archive library, which contains mainly historical and local history literature, has been set up to deal with inquiries and to process the files. In this context, special mention should be made of the more than 500 commemorative publications that have been published on the occasion of association or other anniversaries.

In addition, there are archival collections in the district archive, which are a valuable addition to the records. These include a photo collection, a newspaper collection, a contemporary history collection and a poster collection.

 

Logo Kreisarchiv Coesfeld

 

Contact

Frau Ursula König-Heuer
Fachdienstleitung
Phone: 02541 18-9140
E-Mail: ursula.koenig-heuer [at] kreis-coesfeld.de

Direkt zum Inhalt
11.01.2022

Archive stellen sich vor - Das Kreisarchiv Coesfeld

Von Archivportal-D

In der Rubrik "Archive stellen sich vor" präsentieren wir die verschiedenen Datengeber des Archivportal-D und verlinken zu ihren Beständen. Wir freuen uns, dass das Kreisarchiv Coesfeld mit dabei ist!

Das Kreisarchiv Coesfeld ist, verglichen etwa mit historischen Stadtarchiven, eine sehr junge Einrichtung; es wurde 1986 gegründet. Seitdem werden alle Dokumente, die zum einen rechtlich relevant und zum anderen für die Geschichte des Kreises Coesfeld interessant sind, archiviert. Sachgerecht verpackt und gelagert, steht das Archivgut für Anfragen aus Verwaltung, Forschung und Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung.

Zum Archivgut zählen in erster Linie die bei der Kreisverwaltung Coesfeld seit 1945 erwachsenen Akten. Als Rechtsnachfolger des im Zuge der kommunalen Neugliederung zum 1.1.1975 aufgelösten Nachbarkreises Lüdinghausen verwahrt es ebenso dessen Nachkriegsregistratur. Bestände aus der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts liegen bisher im Kreisarchiv nur vereinzelt vor; die Akten der Vorgängerbehörden, nämlich der 1816 eingerichteten Landratsämter Coesfeld und Lüdinghausen sowie der 1886 geschaffenen Kreisausschüsse sind im Landesarchiv NRW, Abteilung Westfalen, überliefert. Eine Übersicht über die dort lagernden Akten ist im Kreisarchiv einzusehen. Das amtliche Archivgut wird durch Deposita, wie z.B. Familien- oder Vereinsnachlässe ergänzt.

Für die Erledigung der Anfragen und zur Bearbeitung der Akten wurde die Archivbibliothek aufgebaut, die schwerpunktmäßig geschichtliche und heimatkundliche Literatur enthält. Besondere Erwähnung verdienen in diesem Zusammenhang die über 500 Festschriften, die zu Vereins- oder sonstigen Jubiläen herausgegeben wurden.

Darüber hinaus befinden sich im Kreisarchiv archivische Sammlungen, die eine wertvolle Ergänzung der Aktenbestände darstellen. Hierzu zählen eine Fotosammlung, eine Zeitungssammlung, eine zeitgeschichtliche Sammlung sowie eine Plakatsammlung.

 

Logo Kreisarchiv Coesfeld

 

Kontakt

Frau Ursula König-Heuer
Fachdienstleitung
Tel: 02541 18-9140
E-Mail: ursula.koenig-heuer [at] kreis-coesfeld.de