Archives introduce themselves - Archiv der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft

By Archivportal-D

In the section "Archives introduce themselves" we present the various data providers of Archivportal-D and link to their holdings. We are happy that the archive of the Max Planck Society is participating!

The archive of the Max Planck Society in Berlin-Dahlem was founded in 1975 to centrally secure the records of the Kaiser Wilhelm / Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science (mainly files, photos, sound and film) and to make them accessible for use (currently 5,000 shelf meters).

Archivgebäude der Max Planck Gesellschaft

Archiv building of the Max Planck Society in Berlin-Dahlem.

One focus of the holdings is on the estates and bequests of outstanding personalities who were active in the Kaiser Wilhelm Society or the Max Planck Society, such as the Nobel Prize winners Carl Bosch, Walther Bothe, Adolf Butenandt, Paul J. Crutzen, Peter Debye, Gerhard Ertl, Fritz Haber, Otto Hahn, Werner Heisenberg, Georges Köhler, Richard Kuhn, Max von Laue, Feodor Lynen, Ernst Ruska, Bert Sakmann and Otto Warburg, supplemented by collections on Albert Einstein, Fritz Haber and Max Planck, among others.

In addition, the archive's library collects literature on the general history of science in the 20th century.

The archive of the Max Planck Society is represented in the Archivportal-D with the inventory overview and a large part of its finding aids. An enrichment of the indexing units with digitized data is being planned. Extensive digitization measures are already taking place for this purpose.  

Further access is possible via the archive's homepage at https://www.archiv-berlin.mpg.de/tektonik. Among other things, a research in the library catalog (https://www.archiv-berlin.mpg.de/41510/bibliothekskatalog) is also possible. Furthermore, the homepage contains information on use, acquisition and other current topics. Selected publications on topics of the Kaiser Wilhelm / Max Planck Society are available for download free of charge. 

 

Holding´s overview of the Archive of the Max Planck Society in the Archivportal-D

Logo des Archivs der Max Planck Gesellschaft

 

Contact

Archiv der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft
Boltzmannstraße 14
D-14195 Berlin-Dahlem

Homepage: https://www.archiv-berlin.mpg.de/
Telephone: (030) 8413-3701
Telefax: (030) 8413-3700

Loading...

Direkt zum Inhalt
14.06.2021

Archive stellen sich vor - Das Archiv der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft

Von Archivportal-D

In der Rubrik "Archive stellen sich vor" präsentieren wir die verschiedenen Datengeber des Archivportal-D und verlinken zu ihren Beständen. Wir freuen uns, dass das Archiv der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft mit dabei ist!

Das Archiv der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft in Berlin-Dahlem wurde 1975 gegründet, um die Überlieferung der Kaiser-Wilhelm- / Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften (v. a. Akten, Fotos, Ton und Film) zentral zu sichern und der Benutzung zugänglich zu machen (z. Zt. 5.000 Regalmeter).

Archivgebäude
Archivgebäude der Max Planck Gesellschaft

Ein Schwerpunkt der Bestände liegt bei den Vor- und Nachlässen hervorragender Persönlichkeiten, die in der Kaiser-Wilhelm- bzw. in der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft tätig waren, wie die Nobelpreisträger Carl Bosch, Walther Bothe, Adolf Butenandt, Paul J. Crutzen, Peter Debye, Gerhard Ertl, Fritz Haber, Otto Hahn, Werner Heisenberg, Georges Köhler, Richard Kuhn, Max von Laue, Feodor Lynen, Ernst Ruska, Bert Sakmann und Otto Warburg, ergänzt durch Sammlungen u. a. zu Albert Einstein, Fritz Haber und Max Planck.

Darüber hinaus sammelt die Bibliothek des Archivs Literatur zur allgemeinen Wissenschaftsgeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Das Archiv der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft ist mit der Beständeübersicht und einem Großteil seiner Findmittel im Archivportal-D vertreten. Eine Anreicherung der Verzeichnungseinheiten mit Digitalisaten ist in Planung. Dafür finden bereits umfangreiche Digitalisierungsmaßnahmen statt.  

Ein weiterer Zugriff ist über die Homepage des Archivs unter https://www.archiv-berlin.mpg.de/tektonik möglich. Dort ist unter anderem auch die Recherche im Bibliothekskatalog (https://www.archiv-berlin.mpg.de/41510/bibliothekskatalog) möglich. Weiterhin sind auf der Homepage Informationen zur Nutzung, Übernahme und weiteren aktuellen Themen hinterlegt. Ausgewählte Publikationen zu Themen der Kaiser-Wilhelm-/Max-Planck-Gesellschaft stehen kostenfrei zum Herunterladen bereit.  

Beständeübersicht des Archivs der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft im Archivportal-D

Logo des Archivs der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft

 

Kontakt

Archiv der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft
Boltzmannstraße 14
D-14195 Berlin-Dahlem

Homepage: https://www.archiv-berlin.mpg.de/
Telefon: (030) 8413-3701
Telefax: (030) 8413-3700